How To Turn On Snapchat Ghost Mode On Android?

Have you ever heard about the Snapchat Ghost Mode? With the recent updates, Snapchat has also introduced a feature to enable/disable this option to improve the privacy on the Snap Map. If you also want to know about this security feature and how to turn on Ghost mode in Snapchat on Android, then go ahead with this article.

Quick Answer:

Snapchat Ghost Mode is a location privacy feature that prevents others from seeing your current location on the Snap Map. To turn on the Ghost Mode in Snapchat on Android/iPhone, you can go to the Settings, find the Ghost Mode option and enable it to hide your precise location. (Read the complete article to find out the detailed step-by-step instructions).


Navigate to Sections:

What is Ghost Mode in Snapchat and How It Provides Additional Privacy Protection?

Almost all apps on Android use the location tracking feature, and so does Snapchat. In the current world where all smartphones come with GPS enabled, some users are still not ok with such location tracking services.

It makes them furious and provokes the feeling like someone might be prying on them and looking where they are going.

Talking about Snapchat particularly, its location service shows your current location to all your Snapchat friends, and you too can see which other friends are around you. With this in mind, don’t misconstrue that Snapchat doesn’t care about its user’s privacy.

Snapchat totally got the perspective of such users and launched the Ghost Mode feature to provide privacy. When you enable the Ghost Mode on Snapchat, it will no more share your geolocation with your friends. 

To get a complete idea about this, first, you need to understand how Snapchat location service works.

Whenever you open the Snapchat app, it shares your location with friends, also updates and moves your Bitmoji on the Snap Map to show where you are. However, it will not update the location unless you open the app.

And, this is where Ghost Mode comes in. With the help of this security feature, you can control who can see your location and who cannot.

Having it enabled on your Snapchat, users can’t locate you on the Snap Map, and your location won’t be updated. However, your friends can still request to see your location.

Also Read: How To Get Dark Mode On Snapchat For Android

How to Turn On Snapchat Ghost Mode on Android?

To turn on Ghost mode on Snapchat, you need to follow these steps:

  • Launch Snapchat on your phone.
  • Go to the Settings (gear icon at the top-right corner) of Snapchat.
  • Scro0ll down and go to the Who Can section.
  • Tap on the See My Location option.

Turn On Snapchat Ghost Mode on Android

  • Now, you will see the Ghost Mode option and toggle on the button given next to it. 
  • Next, you will be given an option to set the timer for the Ghost Mode. Here, you can select to keep the Ghost Mode on for 3 hrs, 24 hrs, or until you disable it on your own.

Ghost Mode on Snapchat

  • At any point, if you want to disable this mode, then simply turn off the toggle button.

Alternatively, you can do the same by following this procedure:

  • Go to the Snap Map section.
  • Tap on the Settings icon at the top-right corner of the screen.
  • Go to the location sharing settings.

In this setting, you can also exclude friends to whom you don’t want to share your location. Under the Location Requests section, you may also allow your friends to request your location.

How to Change the Location Access for Snapchat?

Ghost Mode will only stop your friends from seeing your location, but not Snapchat. So, if you do not want to let Snapchat track the location, then you need to make a few changes in the Settings on your Android phone. Here is how you can do this:

  • Open the phone Settings. 
  • Tap on Apps/App Manager.
  • Go to the Snapchat. 
  • Tap on the Location.
  • Under the Allow Location Access section, tap on Never.

Doing this will stop the Snapchat app from tracking your location and will anyhow put you in the Ghost Mode as it will hide the location overall, even for your friend.

Apart from this, there is one more option that can be helpful. Here, I am talking about the Precise Location setting. In case, this setting is enabled on your Snapchat, then the app will determine your exact location and so can others.

So, you must turn it off if you don’t want to reveal your geolocation.

Drawbacks of Using Ghost Mode on Snapchat

Although Ghost Mode is good at hiding your precise location from others, there are some drawbacks as well. If you won’t enable or share the location, you won’t have access to the location-related filters.

So, if you want to enjoy those filters, then you must enable the location sharing option, at least until you are using the filter.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Does Snapchat Ghost Mode get turned off automatically?

No, it won’t get turned off all by itself unless you have made it to do so. When we enabled it on Snapchat it asks us to choose from three options, that is – Enable Ghost Mode for hrs, 24 hrs, or Until Turned Off. If you have chosen any of the first two options, then it will eventually be going to turn off after the specified time interval.

How can I Unghost on Snapchat?

If you want to Unghost your Snapchat, then you need to turn off the Ghost Mode option. For this, go to the Settings > See My Location > disable the Ghost Mode.

Will enabling Ghost Mode take me off the Snap Map?

Yes, enabling this feature will take you off the Snapchat map. Once you enter the Ghost Mode, it hides your location on the map. Consequently, you will no longer appear on the map and none of your contacts can track you.

Final Words

Snapchat Ghost Mode on Android/iPhone is undoubtedly a great feature to secure your privacy in terms of location tracking and sharing. It is no less than a wonder for the users who are very uncomfortable with their location visible to others.

Keeping the location invisible keeps you secure from the people who try to pry on your location for any malicious reasons. As you cannot trust all the random friends on your Snapchat or any other social media app, this feature does wonder for you.

With all that, I hope you understood the importance of this feature and how can you use it on your Android phone. However, if you still have any queries, then feel free to ask us on Facebook or Twitter.

1 Shares
Share
Tweet
Pin1
Share